Triathlon Federation

  • Permalink Gallery

    Graham Borg & Hannah Pace crowned National Triathlon Champions

Graham Borg & Hannah Pace crowned National Triathlon Champions

Duo take honours take the honours at the Express Trailers Malta National Triathlon Championship 2017

The Malta Triathlon Federation held the 31st Edition of the Malta National Triathlon Championship on Sunday at the Salini Beach and along the Coast Road. Hannah Pace was confirmed National Champion from last year while it as Graham’s Borg first National Title in his career.

In total, just over 100 athletes participated in all the races which were held on the day.

The National Championship was raced on the Standard (Olympic) distance which saw the athletes swim 1.5KM, cycle 40KM and run 10KM.

In the female race, Hannah Pace was unrivalled as she led from start to finish. Pace, who was defending her 2016 title, clocked the best splits in all three segments and in both transitions. Pace went in front in the swim where she opened a 90 second gap which left little hope for her rivals so early in the race. Pace went on to wrap the championship in a total time of 2 hours, 18 minutes and 58 seconds. Margaret Seguna, current National Duathlon and Long Distance Triathlon Champion was second at more that 4 minutes behind the winner, while the third place went to Danica Bonello Spiteri, the nine-time National Title holder secured a spot on the lowest place on the podium.

In the male event, the race was uncertain segment. After the swim, it was Latvian Stanislavs Vaipans that exited the water, followed by Shaun Galea, Bernard Sant and Graham Borg. On the cycling segment, Shaun Galea lost a huge amount of time due to bike mechanical problem while it was Veteran David Galea who clocked the best cycling segment of the day, followed by Wayne Spiteri and German Holger [...]

By |October 10th, 2017|News, Triathlon Federation|Comments Off on Graham Borg & Hannah Pace crowned National Triathlon Champions|

National Sprint Triathlon Championships

Hannah Pace retains title, Graham Borg seals first championship win

Serving as the National Sprint Triathlon Championships, the third race of the Birkirkara St. Joseph Sprint Series saw existing Sprint Triathlon Champion Hannah Pace retain her crown and Graham Borg seal his first championship title of his career.

Pace’s start to the race saw her exit the water in seventh place overall, three seconds behind Margaret Seguna. Pace however took the lead immediately from transition to lead the female pack on the 20km, windy bike course, gaining a full three minute lead over Seguna. Pa

ce maintained  a comfortable lead throughout the 5km run to retain the National  Sprint Triathlon title in a time of 1 hour 7 minutes 41 seconds.  Seguna, nevertheless fought on to take second place well ahead of third placed Lara Buttigieg. Seguna finished the course in 1 hour 12 minutes 2 seconds.


Though favourite contenders for a podium place were Graham Borg, Shaun Galea and Neil Markham, it was Latvian athlete Stanislas Vaipans who led the pack in the swim, thus the race for the title was still relatively open after the 750m course.  In the bike segment an impressive performance by Wayne Spiteri, claiming fastest bike split after having exited the water in 18th place.  Second fastest cyclist was Nicholas Micallef who was followed by Graham Borg. Ultimately it was Borg who produced a fine run to take his first ever championship title in a time of 1 hour 1 minute and 42 seconds. Wayne Spiteri followed in second place with a time of 1:03:56. Shaun Galea, recently crowned aquathlon champion had to settle for third place in a time of 1:04:43.

Trophies were presented to the winners by Mr. Cyprian Dalli, President [...]

By |September 12th, 2017|Events, News, Triathlon Federation|Comments Off on National Sprint Triathlon Championships|