John Marmara Wins the M Busuttil Builders Cup – Trap Event

John Marmara won the M Busuttil Builders Cup, an event that was held at the Bidnija Shooting Ranges.
This was one of a series of Mini Grand Prix that the Malta Shooting Sport Federation is organizing throughout the 2019 Shotgun Calendar. A total of three qualification rounds of twenty five clay targets each were shot and followed by the Final Stages.
Stephen Vella placed in the second place overall while Rennie Deguara finished in third place.
The six Finalists in the Bib number order according to their qualification scores were;
Stephen Vella with the score of 66/75, Rennie Deguara scored 64/75, John Marmara hit 63/75, Raymond Micallef managed 60/75, Nicholas Carabott 59/75 and Frank Scorfna 58/75.

The Finals results were;
1st John Marmara 20/25 + 4/5 + 3/5 + 4/5 + 7/10, total score 38/50
2nd Stephen Vella 20/25 + 4/5 + 5/5 + 3/5 + 5/10, total score 37/50
3rd Rennie Deguara 20/25 + 4/5 + 2/5 + 4/5, total score 30/40
4th Frank Scorfna 17/25 + 4/5 + 5/5, total score 26/35
5th Raymond Micallef 16/25 + 4/5, total score 20/30
6th Nicholas Carabott 15/25, total score 15/25
The top Shooters in their respective classes concluded their three qualifications with the following scores;
Class A
1st Rennie Deguara 64/75
2nd John Marmara 63/75
3rd Nicholas Carabott 59/75

Class B
1st Stephen Vella 66/75
2nd Raymond Micallef 60/75
3rd Frank Scorfna 58/75

Class C
1st Brian Zammit 55/75
2nd Jason Magri 52/75
3rd George Micallef 50/75

The MSSF Trap Programme continues on Sunday 26 May 2019 at 10:00 at the Southern Shooting Club with the Brincat Trophy.


By |May 20th, 2019|Uncategorized|Comments Off on John Marmara Wins the M Busuttil Builders Cup – Trap Event|
  • Permalink Gallery

    Maltese Olympic Committee announces finalists for 16th MOC Sports Awards

Maltese Olympic Committee announces finalists for 16th MOC Sports Awards

The Maltese Olympic Committee announced the names of one hundred and three athletes who made it to the final selection for 16th Edition of the annual Sports Awards which will take place on Thursday 7th December at the Corinthia Hotel in Attard.

Representing twenty-two affiliated associations, these athletes stood out in their respective sporting categories and will be recognised for their accomplishments during the competition period 16th October 2016 and 15th October 2017.

Award Categories start from the Special Award, followed by Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum.

Awards will be bestowed based on the results achieved in major international competitions organised under the auspices of the International Federation of the athletes’ respective sport or a recognised and reputable International Sport Organisation.

“The Adjudicating Committee had a difficult task in selecting the finalists for this year. Naturally the results obtained in the Games of Small States of Europe topped the list of achievements, however there were a number of notable performances on the international scene that definitely deserve to be recognised” explained Julian Pace Bonello, President of the Maltese Olympic Committee.

Guest of Honour

Former international Italian footballer, Giuseppe Giannini, also known as “Il Principe”, will be Guest of Honour for the evening. Giannini, spent the majority of his 16-year playing career with A.S. Roma, and was regarded by supporters as a club symbol. Giannini acquired 47 caps for Italy and starred in the teams that reached the semi-finals of the 1988 UEFA European Championship, and subsequently the 1990 FIFA World Cup on home soil.

Hall of Fame 

The Maltese Olympic Committee also announced the induction of Tonio Briguglio

and Guzi Grech in the Hall of Fame for their contributions both in the field of play as well as in the administrative roles they [...]

By |December 2nd, 2017|Uncategorized|Comments Off on Maltese Olympic Committee announces finalists for 16th MOC Sports Awards|


On Saturday 27th May 2017 Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi organized the annual event to honor the ASMK 2016 Champions and Runner-Up’s of each section within the Association. This event took place at Verdala Palace in Buskett. This ASMK event was sponsored by General Soft Drinks Ltd, Delicata Winery, Nexos, S. Curmi & Sons, MFCC Ta’ Qali and the Sign Ltd. Special thanks go to the Her Excellency the President of Malta who offered the Presidential Palace of Verdala to host the ASMK Championship Winners and Runner-Up’s.

Among the honoured car winners was Christian Mark Galea on his Fiat Ritmo who won the Modified National Autocross Championship, the Runner-Up Malcolm Borg on his Opel Corsa and Deane Farrugia who won the Standard Car Class National Autocross Championship.

The Motorcycle riders honoured were Clayton Camilleri on a KTM who won the ASMK National Motocross Championship for the tenth time while his younger brother Kyle Camilleri on another KTM is the Runner-Up in this category.

Damon Bonello on a Gas Gas won the Trials National Championship and his Runner-up is Rowen Bonello on a Beta Trials motorcycle.

Matthew Gauci on Sherco won the Enduro-Moto National Championship for the first time and his Runner-Up is Joseph Scicluna on a KTM.

During his speech the President of the Association Frans Deguara congratulated all the winners and at the time thanked all the sponsors present in the hall. The Association also invited the Parliamentary Secretary for Youth and Sports Hon. Chris Agius MP but he could not attend due to other commitments. Present also was also the spokesman of the Opposition for Sports Hon. David Agius MP.

The Association presented a memento of thanks to the sponsors who also made this championship [...]

By |May 31st, 2017|News, Uncategorized|Comments Off on ASMK 2016 CHAMPIONS HONOURED AT VERDALA PALACE|

GSSE 2017 – Umnov clinches Silver in 200m Butterfly

Mikhail Umnov clinches Silver Medal in the 200m Butterfly


Photo Credit: Maria Vella-Galea

By |May 30th, 2017|Uncategorized|Comments Off on GSSE 2017 – Umnov clinches Silver in 200m Butterfly|