Maltese Olympic Committee announces finalists for 16th MOC Sports Awards

By December 2, 2017 April 7th, 2020 News

The Maltese Olympic Committee announced the names of one hundred and three athletes who made it to the final selection for 16th Edition of the annual Sports Awards which will take place on Thursday 7th December at the Corinthia Hotel in Attard.

Representing twenty-two affiliated associations, these athletes stood out in their respective sporting categories and will be recognised for their accomplishments during the competition period 16th October 2016 and 15th October 2017.

Award Categories start from the Special Award, followed by Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum.

Awards will be bestowed based on the results achieved in major international competitions organised under the auspices of the International Federation of the athletes’ respective sport or a recognised and reputable International Sport Organisation.

“The Adjudicating Committee had a difficult task in selecting the finalists for this year. Naturally the results obtained in the Games of Small States of Europe topped the list of achievements, however there were a number of notable performances on the international scene that definitely deserve to be recognised” explained Julian Pace Bonello, President of the Maltese Olympic Committee.

Guest of Honour

Former international Italian footballer, Giuseppe Giannini, also known as “Il Principe”, will be Guest of Honour for the evening. Giannini, spent the majority of his 16-year playing career with A.S. Roma, and was regarded by supporters as a club symbol. Giannini acquired 47 caps for Italy and starred in the teams that reached the semi-finals of the 1988 UEFA European Championship, and subsequently the 1990 FIFA World Cup on home soil.

Hall of Fame 

The Maltese Olympic Committee also announced the induction of Tonio Briguglio

and Guzi Grech in the Hall of Fame for their contributions both in the field of play as well as in the administrative roles they occupied.

Finalists of the 16th Edition of the MOC Sports Awards

Malta Amateur Athletics Association

Sarah Busuttil, Rachel Fitz, Ian Paul Grech, Rebecca Saré, Annalise Vassallo, Charlotte Wingfield

Aquatic Sports Association of Malta

Andrew Chetcuti, Matthew Galea, Michael Stafrace, Michael Umnov, Matthew Zammit

Malta Basketball Association

Women National Basketball Team

Klabbs tal-Bocci

David Farrugia, Stefan Farrugia

Federation of Body Builders

Blanche Coppola, Ralph Decelis, Antoine Zerafa

Malta Canoe Federation

Aleksey Babadjanov, Samuel Borg, Melanie Schembri Waite

Malta Cycling Federation

Stephanie Alden, Marie Claire Aquilina, Etienne Bonello, Maurice Formosa, James Mifsud, Alexander Pettett, Michelle Vella Wood

Malta Golf Association

Nicholas Beck, Andrew Borg, Ruud Critien, John Junior Verelst Micallef

Malta Judo Federation

Rodney Zammit

Malta Karate Federation

Emma Grech

Lotta Maltija

Gary Giordimaina

Malta Pool Association

Anton Cuschieri, Men National Pool Team

Malta Racing Club

Noel Baldacchino

Malta Rugby Football Union

Men National Rugby Team

Malta Shooting Federation

Eleanor Bezzina, Gianluca Chetcuti, Bozidar Dimitrov, Frans Pace, Nathan Lee Xuereb

Malta Squash Association

Kimberley Galea, Johanna Rizzo, Colette Sultana

Malta Table Football Sports Association

Angelo Borg, Samuel Bartolo, Massimo Cremona, Hansel Mallia

Malta Table Tennis Association

Viktoria Lucenkova, Jessica Pace

Malta Tennis Federation

Matthew Asciak, Francesca Curmi, Elaine Genovese, Omar Sudzuka

Malta Tenpin Bowling Association

Sue Abela, Mauro Anastasi, Kurt Attard, Juliana Bonanno, Tiziana Carranante, Justin Caruana Scicluna, Ayrton Ciangura, Matthew Magro, Nicholas Muscat, Shadon Psaila, Mark Spiteri, Edward Xuereb, Sara Xuereb

Malta Triathlon Federation

Graham Borg, Hannah Pace

Malta Weightlifting Association

Matthew Camilleri, Kyle Micallef, Keiran Mifsud, Elisa Scicluna, Yazmin Zammit Stevens