MOC Officially announces contingent for 2017 Games of Small States of Europe

By May 15, 2017 April 7th, 2020 GSSE, News

Athlete Charlotte Wingfield chosen as flag bearer

The Maltese Olympic Committee, today, officially named the contingent representing Malta at the forthcoming Games of the Small States of Europe which will be held in San Marino between the 29th May and 3rd June.

The shortlist of athletes was announced at a press conference held earlier on this afternoon at the Maltese Olympic Committee’s Headquarters in the presence of officials, athletes, coaches and members of the media.

The MOC President Mr Julian Pace Bonello will be accompanying the athletes, whilst Chef de Mission duties will be undertaken by Mr. William Beck.

Chef de Mission William Beck confirmed that Malta will be taking part in twelve disciplines which include Archery, Athletics, Basketball, Beach Volley, Boules (Raffa), Cycling, Judo, Shooting, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis and Volleyball. A total of eighty-eight athletes will be fielded. This year will see Team Malta compete in Archery, Boules and Cycling which have replaced Golf and Gymnastics from the previous years.  A number of coaches and medical officials will also be accompanying the athletes.

Technical Director for the 2017 GSSE Mario Micallef feels confident that the Maltese contingent is well prepared for the Games and hopes that the medal tally from previous years will continue to increase from the 31 medals obtained in Iceland.  He suggests that the fact that Team Malta is represented in all the twelve sports highlights the MOC’s confidence in the preparation that the athletes and their respective Federations have put towards these Games.

Towards the end of the conference MOC President Julian Pace Bonello declared Charlotte Wingfield as the contingent’s flag bearer at the opening ceremony in the San Marino Stadium in Serravalle, on Monday 29th May, and presented her with the Maltese flag. Being based in the UK, Charlotte has built up substantial international exposure and has also competed for Malta in GSSE 2015 in Iceland – winning two Gold medals in the process, the European Games in Baku in 2015 and the Olympic Games in Rio 2016.

MOC President Julian Pace Bonello concluded the press conference by thanking all those involved in the preparation for these Games. Since their inception in 1985, Malta has been present and has given some solid performances.  He stressed the importance of these games to Maltese athletes, since they provide an excellent opportunity for Maltese athletes to compete at an international level at par with other athletes.

flag bearer

* * *

The following is the full list of athletes making up the Maltese contingent.

Archery – Daniel Schembri, Patrick Zammit

Athletics – Luke Bezzina, Matthew Croker, Charlton Debono, Ian Paul Grech, Daniel Saliba, Lisa Marie Bezzina, Francesca Borg, Sarah Busuttil, Mona Lisa Camilleri, Antonella Chouhal, Peppijna Dalli, Rachel Fitz, Janet Richard, Rebecca Sare, Roberta Schembri, Annalise Vassallo, Joanne Vella, Charlotte Wingfield

Basketball – Hanna Al-Tumi, Maria Bonett, Samantha Marie Brincat, Elena Cassar, Christina Curmi, Stephanie De Martino, Christina Grima, Josephine Grima, Nicola Handreck, Gabriella Mifsud, Sarah Jayne Pace, Ashleigh Vella,

Beach Volley – Dorianne Bonnici, Gertrude Zarb, Robert Balzan, Manuel Raffa

Boules (Raffa) – David Farrugia, Reno Farrugia, Stefan Farrugia, Giuseppe Gemelli

Cycling – Etienne Bonello, Maurice Formosa, James Mifsud, Alexander Pettett, Patrick Scicluna, Stephanie Alden, Marie Claire Aquilina, Michelle Vella Wood

Judo – Rodney Zammit

Shooting – Gianluca Azzopardi Spiteri, Gianluca Chetcuti, William Chetcuti, Bozhidar Dimitrov, Clive Farrugia, Brian Galea, Francis Pace, William Vella, Eleonor Bezzina

Swimming-  Jeremy Bugeja, Andrew Chetcuti, Matthew Galea, Michael Stafrace, Mikhail Umnov, Thomas Wareing, Matthew Zammit, Mya Azzopardi, Francesca Falzon Young, Alexandra Mcgonigle, Amy Micallef, Leah Tanti

Table Tennis – Viktoria Lucenkova, Jessica Pace

Tennis – Matthew Asciak, Omar Sudzuka, Francesca Curmi, Elaine Genovese

Volleyball –  Amanda Agius, Daniela Bonnici, Alison Borg, Lindsay Cordina, Maria Anne Costa, Isabel Cutajar, Sarah El Gasi, Marjoe Falzon, Thais Gatt, Zane Malasevksa, Francesca Sarcina, Sarah Spiteri