Okmalta.com retain league title -setting new national record on the way

By February 23, 2017 News


MAPFRE MSV Life National Leagues  


The MTBA (Malta Tenpin Bowling Association) has honoured all the winners of awards won in the MAPFRE MSV Life National League during an award ceremony The national league is held over 3 divisions of ten teams each.

Team Fina and Team Ramis had dominated the local bowling scene in the previous decade. However, this decade carries the stamp of team okmalta.com having won 5 out of the last 9 seasons, finishing in 2nd place in the remaining four seasons.   The reigning champions have retained the league title. These back to back titles come as no surprise to followers of bowling since the ranks of team Okmalta.com boast four from the top eight ranked bowlers in Malta.

The champions will also remember the last season for setting a new national record score of 1017. They became the first Maltese 4-men team to break the 1000 barrier in the 45-year history of the bowling national league. Throughout the season, Okmalta.com racked up an impressive 14 wins in their first 16 outings.

However, it was far from a one-horse race to the title, as team Ramis proved to be worthy challengers for most of the season, even beating okmalta.com in the first round. Ramis enjoyed the lead for most of the first round. However a heavy defeat against Okmalta.com in the last few weeks of the season turned the tide in favour of the reigning champions who went on to seal the title.

Completing the podium places was team Fina, who had to fend off a late upsurge by ever improving Turu’s Knights in the final week direct encounter.

In the lower end of the table, team MIA bounced back to 2nd Division and were joined by youth side JDS Brutal Legendz, whose first experience in the top flight was short lived. Experienced sides J. Grima & Co. Ltd and Bank of Valletta have replaced them via their promotion from 2nd Division.

ok.1 ok.2

Team okmalta.com:

-Rankin Camilleri

-Mauro Anasatsi

-Dennis Mercieca

-Neil Sullivan

-Mark Bugeja (Captain)