--> -->

Team Malta for Birmingham XXII Commonwealth Games Announced  

By July 12, 2022 August 1st, 2022 Commonwealth Games, News

Kijan Sultana, Tenishia Thornton declared Flag Bearers for the Opening Ceremony

The Maltese Olympic Committee (MOC) announced its contingent for the forthcoming Commonwealth Games which will be taking place in Birmingham between the 28th July and the 8th August.

Malta will be competing in nine different sports and will be represented by twenty nine athletes, three of which qualified on their own merit.

Director of Sport and Chef de Mission Charlene Attard explained the qualification process that athletes were required to undergo and noted that the Weightlifting athletes were the only athletes to qualify on their own merit. The rest of the athletes, were selected through the open allocation process,  but noted that they had reached the Minimum Qualifying Standard established by the MOC.

Julian Pace Bonello, President of the MOC, remarked that the Maltese contingent’s experience varied but nonetheless, present will be some of Malta’s up and coming talent.  Joining the contingent will be three members of the 2018 Women’s Fours Lawn Bowls team who brought home a Bronze Medal.   Pace Bonello went on to express his gratitude towards the Government of Malta, SportMalta and the Commonwealth Games Federation for the financial assistance provided to athletes for these Games.

He went on to announce  that Kijan Sultana (Squash) and Tenishia Thornton (Weightlifting) would be flag bearers for the opening ceremony on the 28th July.  Both athletes have produced excellent results in the international sphere with Australia based Under 19 player Sultana winning several international events, whilst Thornton was the first Maltese weightlifter to win the 2022 IWF Youth World Championship title in the 55kg Category. She also went on to win the European Union Cup last week.

The Maltese Contingent will be accompanied by President Julian Pace Bonello, Secretary General Kevin Azzopardi,  Paul Sultana (Deputy Chef de Mission), Dr Lucienne Attard, Milos Stanisjvelic, Julian Rizzo Naudi and Dr Kurstein Sant (Medical) Team, David Azzopardi and Daniel Tanti Farrugia as Officials.


Team Malta Contingent



Athletes: Claire Azzopardi, Charlotte Wingfield, Janet Richard, Carla Scicluna

Coach/Official: Rebecca Sare



Athletes: Matthew Abela, Sam Cassar

Coach/Official: Matthew Haynes



Athlete: Aiden Buttigieg

Coach/Official: Etienne Bonello



Athletes: Isaac Bezzina, Katryna Esposito

Coach/Official: Aurelien Fleisz


Lawn Bowls

Athletes: Connie Rixon, Rosemarie Rixon, Rebecca Rixon, Iren Attard, Shaun Parnins, Mark Malogorski, Troy Lorimer, Peter Ellul

Coach/Official: Rex Johnston, Joe Saragozza



Athletes: Kijan Sultana, Colette Sultana, Niall Engerer, Lijana Sultana

Coach/Official: Robert Sultana



Athletes: Danica Bonello Spiteri, Keith Galea

Coach/Official: Warren Muscat



Athlete:s Tenishia Thornton, Yazmin Zammit Stevens,  Roberta Tabone, Elisa Scicluna

Coach/Official: Jesmond Caruana



Athletes: Gary Giordimaina, Adam Vella

Coach/Official:  Jesmond Giordimaina