Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games is an international multi-sport event involving athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. The event was first held in 1930, and has taken place every four years since then. Athletes with a disability are also included as full members of their national teams, making the Commonwealth Games as the first fully inclusive international multi-sport event.

It is also the world’s first multi-sport event which inducts equal number of women’s and men’s medal events and was implemented recently in the 2018 Commonwealth Games. With such unique features, the World Economic Forum called the event inspiring and significant.

View Past Editions of the Commonwealth Games

Latest News

Latest News on the Commonwealth Games

Commonwealth Games

Silver at the Commonwealth Judo Championships

Games of Small States of Europe Bronze Medalist, Isaac Bezzina, has made his comeback to Judo with a bang. Isaac…
Commonwealth Games

Brian Galea lands Bronze Medal in Trap Competition in the Commonwealth Games

Shooter Brian Galea delivered a remarkable performance at this morning's trap competition, to secure his place on the podium and…
Commonwealth Games

GC2018 – News Update – 12th April

Squash Duo Hindle/Zammit-Lewis make it to top sixteen in the Gold Coast As the XXI Commonwealth Games are slowly coming…
Commonwealth Games

GC2018 News Update – 11th April

Whilst there was no doubt in the commitment and determination to perform well by all Maltese athletes at the Commonwealth…